Voting begins in Tanjong Datu by-election

Feb 18, 2017


All 16 polling centres for the Tanjong Datu state constituency by-election opened at 8am today for 9,771 voters to cast their ballot and elect their new assemblyman.

The process is going on smoothly despite a drizzle.

One hundred and eighty-eight or 1.9 per cent of 9,959 voters had on Feb 12 cast their ballot at two early voting centres.

The by-election was called following the death of Sarawak’s fifth Chief Minister Adenan Satem due to heart complications on Jan 11 at Sarawak Heart Centre in Kota Samarahan.

In the 11th state election in May last year, Adenan, 72, obtained 6,360 votes against PKR candidate Jazolkipli Numan’s 468 votes, thereby securing a majority of 5,892 votes.

This time around, PKR opted not to join in the race to become the next representative for Tanjong Datu.

The by-election is a three-corner contest involving Barisan Nasional, represented by Adenan’s widow, Jamilah Anu; State Reform Party, Sarawak (Star)’s Johnny Aput; and New Sarawak Native People’s Party (PBDS)’s Rapelson Richard Hamit.

According to the Election Commission (EC), Lundu has the most number of voters – 1,906, who will cast their ballot at Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Chung Hua, while Perigi has the least number – 171, followed by Telok Melano – 172.

A general survey at Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Chung Hua around 8am this morning found that many voters had arrived at the polling centre as early as 7.30am.

Rapelson was also seen shaking hands with potential voters at the school compound.

On Thursday, EC chairman Mohd Hashim Abdullah said the result of the by-election was expected to be obtained by 8pm. –Bernama