Second Sultan of Kelantan to become Agong

Apr 24, 2017

The first was His Majesty’s grandfather Sultan Yahya Petra Sultan Ibrahim, who was the 6th Yang di-Pertuan Agong and reigned from 1975 to 1979.

Sultan Muhammad V was born Tengku Muhammad Faris Petra on October 6, 1969 in Kota Baru, to Sultan Ismail Petra and Tengku Anis Tengku Abdul Hamid.

His Majesty used the name Sultan Muhammad V after he was installed as the 29th Sultan of Kelantan in 2010.

According to Azuan Effendy, the installation ceremony will maintain the core elements of the traditions that have been in practice since the coronation of the first Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Rahman of Negri Sembilan.

Today’s event will start with the arrival of Sultan Muhammad V at the royal dais to take the Royal Salute from the First Battalion of the Royal Malay Regiment.

Among the key elements of the ceremony will be when His Majesty enters the Throne Room, accompanied with the musical tunes of Raja Berangkat played by the Pasukan Gendang Besar Diraja Kelantan, commanders who will carry the Cogan Alam (Sceptre of the Universe) and the Cogan Agama (Sceptre of Religion), and bearers of the royal regalia – important elements that reflect the glorious position of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong as the head of state.

The Datuk Paduka Maharaja Lela will present a copy of the Quran to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong in a symbolic gesture depicting His Majesty’s role as head of the Islamic religion of the Federation and the states that do not have a Ruler.

Another highlight will be when the Royal Long Keris is presented to the King, symbolising His Majesty’s willingness to assume his role as head of state.

The climax of the ceremony is when His Majesty takes his oath as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and three calls of “Daulat Tuanku” by Datuk Paduka Maharaja Lela followed by the audience in the hall.

The national anthem will be played with a 21-gun salute to announce the installation of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. — Bernama

Related links:
Sultan Muhammad V takes oath of office as Yang Di-Pertuan Agong