Pakatan picks Dr Mahathir and Anwar for top posts, new logo

 |Jul 14, 2017

PETALING JAYA: Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Anwar Datuk Seri Ibrahim have been picked to lead Pakatan Harapan following last night’s meeting at the PKR headquarters.

According to Free Malaysia Today, the coalition leaders have pledged to abolish the goods and services tax (GST) and stabilising petrol price among seven immediate steps it would take in its first 100 days in power.

The news portal reported that Anwar was appointed leader, while Dr Mahathir was named chairman.

A joint statement read by Dr Mahathir also named Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as president. She will be assisted by deputies Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (PPBM), Lim Guan Eng (DAP) and Mohamad Sabu (Amanah).

Meanwhile, PKR deputy president Datuk Seri Azmin Ali and his PPBM counterpart Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir have been named vice-presidents, along with DAP’s Chong Chieng Jen and Amanah’s Salahuddin Ayub while former deputy minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah is the chief secretary.

The announcement ended a month-long speculation over the leadership structure of the new coalition. It will see the four opposition parties for the first time going to the polls using a common logo.

A new logo was also chosen yesterday. It has the word “Harapan” against a red backdrop, with the “A” in the middle in a triangle shape.

“We enlarged the ‘A’ to make it seem like the top of a mountain,” Dr Mahathir told reporters.

The former prime minister said the coalition would be registered as soon as possible.

Although Dr Mahathir avoided questions on whether the meeting last night arrived at a prime ministerial candidate for the coalition, he said the coalition would submit a fresh appeal to get a royal pardon for Anwar, to lift a ban on him from active politics.

Asked if this meant Anwar was the choice as prime minister, Dr Mahathir said he still had to go through many obstacles, adding that it was something to be decided by the “seventh prime minister” after Datuk Seri Najib Razak.