‘Ops Firefly’ crackdown on Gang 21

Nov 30, 2016


Bukit Aman crackdown on Gang 21.
Bukit Aman crackdown on Gang 21.

The Bukit Aman police within a 15 hour crackdown from Monday wiped out the notorious Gang 21 without the knowledge of the Kuala Selangor district police.

As reported by The Malay Mail, twelve members, including their 46-year-old leader, were nabbed, ending three years of violence and illicit activities.

The suspects, aged 20 to 46, were arrested in Kota Damansara, Gombak and Kuala Selangor.

Bukit Aman Secret Societies, Gambling and Vice Division (D7) principle assistant director SAC Rohaimi Md Isa said the crackdown, which started at 4pm, was the culmination of a three-month operation under Ops Cantas, codenamed “Firefly”.

The special operation was completely handled by Bukit Aman to ensure information was kept classified.

It is revealed that a team of 65 federal officers led by “Firefly” commander, ACP Amir Rasid Derani and head of operations DSP Shan Gopal, were able to move in after sufficient information was gathered.

The suspects were yesterday remanded under the Prevention of Crime Act 1959, for 21 days.

On the gang’s streak of violence, Rohaimi said the 41-year-old “assistant leader” was involved in a double murder in Kuala Selangor, where he hacked two victims to death in 2002.

He said the suspect was arrested under the Emergency Ordinance but he was not remorseful when released, and went on to expand the gang by recruiting even more members.

“Instead of becoming a better person, he just got stronger and became the No. 2 in the group.

“The gang continuously terrorised the residents to the extent of vandalising property by spraying ‘21’ on the walls to mark their presence. They would use parang, stones and metals to threaten residents.” he added.

Rohaimi said some of the members had criminal records, which included drug offences, dishonestly receiving stolen property and theft.

The gang, formed in 2000, has 2,357 members, who are Indians and Chinese, and are mostly active in Perak, Malacca, Negri Sembilan, Selangor and Kuala Lumpur.