Football’s world record transfers

Aug 11, 2016


World most expensive footballer today, Paul Pogba.
World most expensive footballer today, Paul Pogba.

With Paul Pogba’s transfer, Manchester United have broken Real Madrid’s dominance over world records in the transfer market.

Until the Frenchman’s £89 million move from Juventus, Real Madrid had been the buyer of the last five most expensive players in the world.

While Pogba was rumoured with a move to Madrid where he could have become the sixth-straight world record transfer for the club, the 23-year-old’s fee now also dwarfs every other transfer in the Premier League.

It’s too difficult to predict how the world’s most expensive player will perform at United, but the club’s previous biggest signing shows that there can be nothing angelic about a marquee man.

Angel Di Maria moved to Old Trafford on a five-year deal in 2014 after being deemed surplus to requirements at Real Madrid, but left United after one unsuccessful season in the Premier League.

Top five world record fees before Pogba:

Welsh international Gareth Bale.
Welsh international Gareth Bale.
  1. Gareth Bale (2013): Tottenham to Real Madrid £85.3m

Bale signed with Real Madrid on a six-year deal and has become one of the club’s best players, emerging with his reputation in tact after dips in form and injury setbacks. He’s won two Champions Leagues, a Copa del Rey, Club World Cup and Super Cup since joining in 2013.

Portugal captain Cristiano Ronaldo.
Portugal captain Cristiano Ronaldo.
  1. Cristiano Ronaldo (2009): Man Utd to Real Madrid £80m

After winning every possible trophy with Manchester United, Ronaldo moved to Real Madrid and has since become the club’s all-time top goal scorer and twice the Ballon d’Or winner. Since arriving in 2009, he’s won La Liga, two Copa del Rey’s, two Champions Leagues, Supercopa de Epsana, the Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup.

Brazilian Kaka
Brazilian Kaka
  1. Kaka (2009): AC Milan to Real Madrid £56m

Kaka joined Madrid on a six-year deal from Milan but never reached the prolific heights that were expected of him, which was partly due to injuries. In his time at the club the former FIFA World Player of the Year won La Liga, a Copa del Rey and Supercopa de Espana.

Former French captain Zinedine Zidane.
Former French captain Zinedine Zidane.
  1. Zinedine Zidane (2001): Juventus to Real Madrid £53m

Zidane signed a four-year contract and in his first year scored a famous Champions League match-winning goal, a volley hit with his weaker foot, in Madrid’s 2-1 triumph over Bayern Leverkusen in 2002. The next campaign he helped Madrid win La Liga and was named the FIFA World Player of the Year for the third time.

Former Portuguese star Luis Figo.
Former Portuguese star Luis Figo.
  1. Luis Figo (2000): Barcelona to Real Madrid £37m

In one of the most controversial transfers ever, Figo swapped a Barca shirt for a Real Madrid one. The Portuguese won the 2000 Ballon d’Or, largely for what he did at Barcelona, before taking out the FIFA World Player of the Year award in 2001. In his first season at Madrid, Figo also won the 2001 La Liga title after scoring 14 goals in all competitions, and also claimed a La Liga title, Champions League, Super Cup, Supercopa de Espana and Intercontinental Cup while at the club.

History of football transfer fee records (All in British pounds)

1893 – Willie Groves (Scotland) West Brom to Aston Villa 100

1905 – Alf Common (England) Sunderland to Middlesbrough 1000

1922 – Syd Puddefoot (England) West Ham to Falkirk 5000

1922 – Warney Cresswell (England) Sth Shields to Sunderland 5500

1925 – Bob Kelly (England) Burnley to Sunderland 6500

1928 – David Jack (England) Bolton to Arsenal 10,890

1932 – B. Ferreyra (Argentina) Tigre to River Plate 23,000

1949 – Johnny Morris (England) Man Utd to Derby County 24,000

1949 – Eddie Quigley (England) Sheff Wed to Preston 26,500

1950 – Trevor Ford (Wales) Aston Villa to Sunderland 30,000

1951 – Jackie Sewell (England) Notts County to Sheff Wed 34,500

1952 – Hans Jeppson (Sweden) Atalanta to Napoli 52,000

1954 – Juan Schiaffino (Uruguay) Penarol to AC Milan 72,000

1957 – Omar Sivori (Argentina) River Plate to Juventus 93,000

1961 – Luis Suarez (Spain) Barcelona to Inter Milan 152,000

1963 – Angelo Sormoni (Brazil) Mantova to AS Roma 250,000

1967 – Harald Nielsen (Denmark) Bologna to Inter Milan 300,000

1968 – Pietro Anastasi (Italy) Varese to Juventus 500,000

1973 – Johan Cruyff (Netherlands) Ajax to Barcelona 922,000

1975 – Giuseppe Savoldi (Italy) Bologna to Napoli 1.2m

1976 – Paolo Rossi (Italy) Vicenza to Juventus 1.75m

1982 – Diego Maradona (Argentina) Boca Juniors to Barcelona 3.0m

1984 – Diego Maradona (Argentina) Barcelona to Napoli 5.0m

1987 – Ruud Gullit (Netherlands) PSV Eindhoven to AC Milan 6.0m

1990 – Roberto Baggio (Italy) Fiorentina to Juventus 8.0m

1992 – Jean-Pierre Papin (France) Marseille to AC Milan 10.0m

1992 – Gianluca Vialli (Italy) Sampdoria to Juventus 12.0m

1993 – Gianluigi Lentini (Italy) Torino to AC Milan 13.0m

1996 – Alan Shearer (England) Blackburn to Newcastle 15.0m

1997 – Ronaldo (Brazil) Barcelona to Inter Milan 19.5m

1998 – Denilson (Brazil) Sao Paulo to Real Betis 21.5m

1999 – Christian Vieri (Italy) Lazio to Inter Milan 32.0m

2000 – Hernan Crespo (Argentina) Parma to Lazio 35.5m

2000 – Luis Figo (Portugal) Barcelona to Real Madrid 37.0m

2001 – Zinedine Zidane (France) Juventus to Real Madrid 53.0m

2009 – Kaka (Brazil) AC Milan to Real Madrid 56.0m

2009 – Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Man Utd to Real Madrid 80.0m

2013 – Gareth Bale (Wales) Tottenham to Real Madrid 85.3m

2016 – Paul Pogba (France) Juventus to Man Utd 89.0m

Source: Fox Sports