Tan Kok Wai made DAP chairman, Gobind deputy

Nov 12, 2017
Photo from Liew Chin Tong Facebook page

SHAH ALAM: Tan Kok Wai is DAP’s new chairman while Puchong MP Gobind Singh Deo was made his deputy, reported Malay Mail Online.

The positions were announced following the party’s central executive committee (CEC) re-election.

The portal reported that Tan, the Cheras MP now holds the post that has been vacant since Karpal Singh died in 2014.

Lim Guan Eng and Lim Kit Siang retained their posts as secretary-general and parliamentary leader for the party respectively.

The vice-chairmen were Ipoh Barat MP M Kulasegaran, Sarawak DAP chief Chong Chieng Jen, Penang DAP chief Chow Kon Yeow, Sabah DAP chief Stephen Wong, and Pahang DAP chief Tengku Zulpuri Shah.

Seremban MP Anthony Loke Siew Fook also retained his post as national organising secretary. As did Petaling Jaya Utara MP Tony Pua as national publicity secretary.

The international secretary for DAP is Kulai MP Teo Nie Ching while Bukit Bintang MP Fong Kui Lun is party treasurer.

Bernama earlier reported that there were 62 candidates vying for the 20 seats at its Special Congress 2017 today.

The re-elections for the seats had been ordered by the Registrar of Societies on July 17.

It was mandated by ROS after it rejected the outcome of the original elections on Dec 12, 2012 and Sept 29, 2013 due to irregularities.

DAP appointed independent audit firm Grant Thornton based in the United States to manage today’s re-elections.