DAP poll 2012 allegedly rigged to save Lim Dynasty

 |Mar 30, 2017
Balloting during DAP election 2012 held in Penang.

The Registrar of Societies (RoS) does not recognise DAP’s December 15, 2012 party election.

That means the 20 people elected on December 15, 2012 were illegitimate.

Since they were illegitimate, that means all the office bearers (such as the national chairman, the secretary-general, the national treasurer, the national organising secretary, the national publicity secretary, the international secretary, up to five national vice-chairmen, and various deputy positions) were equally illegitimate.

In short, the fruit from a poisonous tree is poisonous, as they would say in legal circles.

Another important thing to note is that for the December 15 party election (or 16th party national congress), the 2,576 delegates were an increase of 1,628 from just 948 in the previous party election.

DAP’s registered members also increased another 66,000 to 150,000 from 84,000 before that and another 817 branches were added to the 311 to make it a total of 1,128 branches.

This was what worried Lim Kit Siang.

He realised that the increase was too high and too sudden for a 52-year old party that has more or less not moved much in five decades.

Tan Seng Giaw (left) was a victim of Lim Kit Siang’s manipulation during DAP election 2012.

Seng Giaw is more popular

After being asleep for two generations, suddenly the number of delegates tripled, the membership almost doubled and the number of branches almost quadrupled, all in a very short space of time.

That was when Kit Siang asked Anthony Loke Siew Fook to do some intel.

Two months later, the report came back showing that Kit Siang’s and Guan Eng’s popularity had declined and that Tan Seng Giaw appeared to be the most popular DAP leader.

Tan Seng Giaw first contested the general election in Kepong in 1978 but lost narrowly.

In the next general election in 1982, he won and has been winning that seat for the last eight general elections, each time with an increasing majority.

In the previous general election in 2013, Seng Giaw won 82.3% of the votes.

No one in DAP has been able to beat Seng Giaw’s track record, who is massively popular with the DAP grassroots plus also popular with the Malays due to his excellent command of the Malay language where he even speaks like a Kelantanese.

Seng Giaw is also popular with DAP’s enemies as he is seen to speak directly and fairly – in the same manner of Lee Lam Thye.

That made Seng Giaw dangerous to Kit Siang and Guan Eng and hence needed to be killed off.

Vincent Wu (left) and Anthony Loke are said to be the masterminds behind the rigging of DAP internal election held on December 15, 2012 in Penang.

Results rigged

The reason the RoS did not approve the DAP party election of December 15 2012 is due to numerous complaints from DAP members, including allegations of late sending of notices, which contravenes the party constitution, allegations of ineligible delegates allowed to vote, vote-rigging, and doubts over the counting of the votes – which resulted in their infamous Excel error after the CEC election results were announced.

For example, this was what was officially announced (and the announcement was delayed more than three hours because they had to ‘adjust’ the results):

  1. Lim Kit Siang – 1,607 votes
    2. Lim Guan Eng – 1,576 votes
    3. Karpal Singh – 1,411 votes
    4. Chong Chieng Jen – 1,211 votes
    5. Anthony Loke Siew Fook – 1,202 votes
    6. Vincent Wu Him Ven – 1,202 votes
    7. Tan Kok Wai – 1,199 votes
    8. Gobind Singh Deo – 1,197 votes
    9. Tony Pua Kiam Wee – 1,162 votes
    10. Teng Chang Khim – 1,152 votes
    11. Fong Kui Lun – 1,137 votes
    12. Nga Kor Ming – 1,075 votes
    13. Chong Eng – 1,006 votes
    14. Chow Kon Yeow – 986 votes
    15. Liew Chin Tong – 984 votes
    16. Kulasegaran Murugeson – 984 votes
    17. Boo Cheng Hau – 958 votes
    18. Teresa Kok Suh Sim – 925 votes
    19. Teo Nie Ching – 903 votes
    20. Ngeh Koo Ham – 824 votes

Only the top 20 gets in

  1. Zairil Khir Johari – 803 votes
    22. Tan Seng Giaw – 802 votes

Now, these results were based on 1,300 delegates being barred from voting while an additional 547 illegal delegates voted.

These 547 were asked to vote for just six people while Anthony Loke and Vincent Wu marked the balance 14 names.

This was how the results turned out the way it did.

The 2012 DAP election was allegedly rigged for the survival of Lim Dynasty.

The Lims should have retired

Tan Seng Giaw, who lost with just 802 votes, should have got first place with 1,955 votes.

Teng Chang Khim, who won 10th place with 1,152 votes, should have got second place with 1,905 votes.

Nga Kor Ming, who got 12th place with 1,075 votes, should have got 1,828 votes.

Chow Kon Yeow, who won 986 votes, should have got 1,739 votes instead.

Boo Cheng Hau, at 17th place with 958 votes, should have won 1,711 votes.

Ngeh Koo Ham, who was at last place with 824 votes, should have come in with 1,577 votes.

Vincent Wu Him Ven, who won 6th place with 1,202 votes, should have got 26th place with just 669 votes, which means he lost.

On the other hand, Lim Kit Siang, (number one with 1,607 votes) and Lim Guan Eng (number two with 1,576 votes) should have won just 1,060 votes and 1,029 votes respectively.

This would place Kit Siang at number 17 and Guan Eng at number 18.

That would mean Kit Siang’s and Guan Eng’s enemies (Tan Seng Giaw, Teng Chang Khim, Nga Kor Ming, Ngeh Koo Ham, Chow Kon Yeow and Boo Cheng Hau) would all be in the top ten while the father and son would be in the bottom five.

In short, Lim senior and Lim junior would have headed for retirement while the new warlords that would emerge in DAP would be Teng Chang Khim, Nga Kor Ming, Ngeh Koo Ham, Chow Kon Yeow and Boo Cheng Hau led by Tan Seng Giaw. – Malaysia Today

Disclaimer – The opinions expressed above are strictly those of the author and do not reflect or represent the views of Malaysia Outlook.

Raja Petra Kamarudin or RPK, cousin to the Selangor Sultan, is one of Malaysia's earliest online 'citizen journalists'. He started his website in 1995 before the internet 'explosion' triggered by the Reformasi movement in September 1998. Malaysia Today was launched as a blog in August 2004 and is one of the few pioneer blogs still active and posting articles on a daily basis 24-7. RPK, 66 years old, has been writing since 1990.