Curfew extended to April 4 for Esszone

Mar 20, 2017
File pic.

The curfew imposed on waters off seven districts in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (Esszone) has been extended to April 4, said Sabah Police Commissioner Ramli Din.

He said with the extension, those living in the affected areas are requested to stay indoors and are banned from entering the waters from 6pm to 6am.

“The curfew involves the districts of Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran,” he said in a statement from Sabah on Sunday.

He said the curfew which was supposed to end today, had to be extended to ensure terrorists were not encroaching upon the waters, and for the safety of international researchers working in the area and tourists visiting the island resorts.

Ramli said the Abu Sayyaf terrorists and other criminal elements from the southern Philippines were still trying to carry out kidnapping for ransom and to commit transborder crimes.

He said the curfew was also imposed to facilitate enforcement and monitoring of boat movements so that chalet owners and fishermen felt secure and confident with the presence of security personnel in the vicinity.

“I have also given the district police chiefs in the Esszone the authority to issue permits to allow those who qualify to conduct fishing activities or travel within the curfew areas,” he added. – Bernama